King Plays

I had an interesting hand in the $0.25/$0.50 cash game I played after the tournament finished last night. I was dealt K9 in the big blind. There were a few limpers and I checked my option.

The flop comes [6 6 9]. I bet about half the pot and everyone folds except the guy on the button.

The turn brings a 6:  [6 6 9] [6]. I’ve got a full house. The only card I’m worried about is the 4th 6. I bet, the other guy pushes all-in. He’s got me covered. I figure he’s either got a 6 or a 9. Those are the only cards that make sense. I call the all-in.

We flip over the cards. He has 97. We laugh and prepare to divvy up the pot. Then, we realize we still need to deal the river. I actually have some outs and we thought it’d be funny if the river was a K giving me a better full house.

He deals the river.  It’s a 6: [6 6 9] [6] [6]. There’s quad 6s on the board. We laugh again and prepare to chop the pot. Then, we all realize that I actually won the hand. My king plays. My hand is 4-of-a-kind K kicker, while my opponent’s is 4-of-a-kind 9 kicker.

That’s one of those hands you don’t forget. I didn’t win a lot on the hand, but I was down and it was enough to get me back in the black.


Leave a comment