Van Halen Set List

Some lucky guy got to see Van Halen rehearsing for the upcoming tour and posted a nice write up including the set list. In the press conference, Van Halen said that Wolfgang picked the 25 song set list. According to the guy, here’s the set list (this is the order they played in rehearsal):

You Really Got Me (Van Halen)
Romeo Delight (Women and Children First)
Somebody Get Me A Doctor (Van Halen II)
I’m The One (Van Halen)
Mean Street (Fair Warning)
Unchained (Fair Warning)
Oh, Pretty Woman (Diver Down)
Dance The Night Away (Van Halen II)
Ice Cream Man (Van Halen)
Beautiful Girls (Van Halen II)
[Guitar Solo]
So This Is Love? (Fair Warning)
And The Cradle Will Rock… (Women and Children First)
Everybody Wants Some!! (Women and Children First)
I’ll Wait (1984)
Runnin’ With The Devil (Van Halen)
Little Guitars (Diver Down)
Jamie’s Cryin’ (Van Halen)
Atomic Punk (Van Halen)
Feel Your Love Tonight (Van Halen)
Little Dreamer (Van Halen)
Panama (1984)
Hot For Teacher (1984)
Ain’t Talkin’ ‘About Love (Van Halen)

Encore:
1984 (1984)
Jump (1984)

This set list actually has me pretty excited. I’ll Wait, Little Dreamer, and Pretty Woman are the only songs that I think are not concert-worthy. Of course, I could live without Panama and Jump, but they kind of have to play those, I guess. I’m enough of a geek that I created an iTunes playlist using the list above just to see how all these songs play together. It’s a great set list.

To show you how much of a Van Halen geek I am, I’m going to show you which songs I would have chosen vs. what Wolfgang has chosen (by album):

.vhalbum { font-weight: bold; border: 2px solid #BBBBBB; padding: 5px; } .vhsong { border: 1px solid #BBBBBB; padding: 2px; } .vhwhopicks {font-weight: bold; border: 2px solid #903030; padding: 5px; text-align: center; }

Wolfgang’s Picks My Picks
Van Halen
Runnin’ With The Devil Runnin’ With The Devil
You Really Got Me You Really Got Me
Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love
I’m the One I’m the One
Atomic Punk Atomic Punk
Feel Your Love Tonight Feel Your Love Tonight
Jaime’s Cryin’  
Little Dreamer  
Ice Cream Man  
Van Halen II
Dance The Night Away Dance The Night Away
Somebody Get Me a Doctor Somebody Get Me a Doctor
Beautiful Girls Beautiful Girls
  Outta Love Again
  D.O.A.
Women and Children First
And The Cradle Will Rock… And The Cradle Will Rock…
Everybody Wants Some!! Everybody Wants Some!!
Romeo Delight Romeo Delight
  Fools
  In A Simple Rhyme
Fair Warning
Mean Street Mean Street
Unchained Unchained
So This Is Love?  
  Sinner’s Swing!
Diver Down
Oh, Pretty Woman  
Little Guitars  
  Hang Em High
  The Full Bug
1984
Hot For Teacher Hot For Teacher
1984  
Jump  
Panama  
I’ll Wait  
  Drop Dead Legs
  Girl Gone Bad
  House of Pain

Basically, we seem to have similar tastes. My choices are more evenly distributed among the first 6 albums. The most amazing thing to me is Wolfgang’s emphasis on the first album. The only songs missing from Wolfgang’s picks from the first album are Eruption (which I’m sure will be part of Eddie’s solo) and On Fire. Our biggest differences are on Diver Down and 1984. He strictly went for the singles (the safe route), while I went for deep cuts and the songs that I enjoy the most. I really wonder how much freedom he had in choosing the set list. If he didn’t pick Jump and Panama, the casual fan would probably go ballistic, while the die hard fan (at least me) would be ecstatic.

All in all, Wolfgang’s list is good and I’m sure the show will be great. I kind of wish I was going now.


One response to “Van Halen Set List

Leave a comment